Jacksonville, FL Second DUI Offense Attorney
If you have been arrested or charged with your 2nd driving under the influence offense, you need experienced legal counsel to defend your case. The penalties and sanctions are more severe for a 2nd DUI offense than for a first offense. Given this, an aggressive and experienced DUI Attorney in Jacksonville, Florida may be able to get the charges dismissed or reduced. Our firm has defended hundreds of alcohol related cases and we have over 15 years combined legal service to the citizens of Duval County and the surrounding counties of northeast Florida. Call us first and let us use our experience to help you get the defense you deserve.
2nd Driving Under the Influence Penalties
If you are convicted of a second offense of driving under the influence, you will be fined between $1,000 and $2,000, and could be imprisoned for up to a maximum of 9 months in jail. There is a minimum of 6 months to 1 year driver’s license suspension (independent from the administrative suspension), unless this second DUI charge is within 5 years of the first DUI. If it is within five years, your driver’s license will be revoked for 5 years, but you may be eligible for a hardship license reinstatement after one year. If convicted, an approved ignition interlock device must be installed at your expense for at least one year on ANY vehicle that you own or lease individually or jointly after you qualify for a license reinstatement. Also, the court will require 10 days of imprisonment (if this second offense was within 5 years of your first DUI offense), and impoundment of all vehicles owned or leased by you for 30 days not during your incarceration. You will also be required to attend DUI school following your conviction. The Administrative Hearing is separate from your second DUI criminal case. Contact us today if you need serious legal representation from an experienced Jacksonville DUI Defense Lawyer.
If you had a person under the age of 18 in the vehicle or your breath or blood alcohol level was 0.15 or more, fines are between $2,000 and $4,000 and imprisonment for less than 1 year. If the breath alcohol level or blood alcohol level was 0.15 or higher, an approved ignition interlock device must be installed at the your expense for at least 2 years on any vehicle that you own or lease individually or jointly after reinstatement of a permanent or restricted license, monthly probation visits, and completion of a substance abuse course. If you are referred for treatment during the course, you are then required to pay for all evaluations, education, and treatment. The term and nature of the evaluations and treatment is ultimately up to the Court and your probation officer. In the end, the best thing to do is hire competent and experienced legal counsel to defend your case. In every case, we strive to have the charges dismissed or reduced to a reckless driving ticket. To learn more, contact our firm today to speak with an experienced DUI lawyer in Jacksonville, Florida. Remember, things can get better. Let us start helping you today.
An Experienced DUI Defense Lawyer in Jacksonville Can Help.
Anyone while driving under the influence that causes personal injury to another person or property damage will be charged with first degree misdemeanor incurring $1,000 or less in fines or 1 year in jail. The penalties above are not for a first driving under the influence offense, a third driving under the influence offense, an under-21 driving offense, or felony offense (serious bodily injury, manslaughter, or vehicular homicide), and there are more severe penalties for commercial motor vehicle operators. Contact our office by calling 904-356-8618 or fill out our online contact form. We are available 24/7.
The contents on this webpage are for informational purposes only and should not be used as a substitute for legal counsel.