What are Florida’s Gun Laws?
Possession of any type of firearm is a controversial topic in this country today. Florida legislation has leaned heavily toward defending each citizen’s right to keep and bear arms. Upon researching the law, you will find there are no requirements to register your firearm. However, in certain situations it is mandatory to carry a license. With a strong stance on the ability to protect yourself and your family, Florida has implemented laws allowing access to self-protection as well as sport.
Purchasing Shotguns and Rifles
In Florida, permits are not necessary to buy or carry a shotgun or rifle, as neither is considered a “concealed weapon.” The only requirement is that the individual must be at least 18 years old. The gun dealer, however, is lawfully required to hold a license. If you purchase a shotgun or rifle, you will be subjected to an initial background check and approval of transfer from the Department of Law Enforcement. However, members of the military and law enforcement are exempt, as well as permit holders from other states.
Because handguns are considered “concealed weapons,” a license is necessary to buy and carry them. In this case, the requirements are as follows:
- You must be a U.S. citizen
- You must be at least 21 years old
- You must have never been convicted of a felony
- You must have never been convicted of a misdemeanor
- You can provide sound reasoning for carrying a weapon
It is legal to transport a handgun in your vehicle provided it is kept in an area that is inaccessible to passengers, such as the trunk. The handgun must also be stored in a secure case. The law regarding shotguns and rifles is more lenient. These may travel openly in a private vehicle, within legal parameters. These parameters include traveling for:
- Target and recreational shooting
- Hunting and trapping
- Professional purposes, including gun repair and sales
Florida law allows minors to carry a firearm, including BB guns and air guns, with the
permission and presence of a legal guardian. If your child participates in any sort of sporting or hunting, you or a certified instructor must accompany him. However, in the privacy of your own home, a minor is forbidden to handle any gun if it is loaded. If a child is found with a loaded firearm, breaks the law while in possession of it, or is injured or injures another, the owner of the gun will be prosecuted as a felon.
Contact the Law Office of Timothy Armstrong
If you have been charged with any type of firearms or weapons offense, it is imperative that you contact a skilled criminal defense attorney immediately. There is no substitute for experience when it comes to gun charges. Your attorney should have a strong understanding of Florida’s gun laws and experience representing clients in weapons charges. Timothy Armstrong has successfully defended countless clients against all types of criminal offenses, including gun charges. As your defense attorney, Mr. Armstrong will work tirelessly to advocate for your rights and tackle your case with knowledge and skill. Serving clients in Duval, St. Johns, Clay, Nassau, and Columbia counties, Mr. Armstrong and his team pride themselves on professionalism and prompt service. Contact the Law Offices of Timothy Armstrong today.